Work work work. 

Of course, these days most families have to have both parents working full time to run the household. And that means a lot of sacrifices! Since my fiancé and I started dating we have sacrificed a lot of our time together for work. He was in the oil field, so I only saw him one week out of the month. And sometimes I’d have to wait 4-6 weeks just to see him. He’d drive home 5-8 hours everytime his hitch was over just to spend a few days with us then go back and do it all over again. After a year of this and the oil field tanking I found him a job at home. And he decided to give up the field he truly loved to come home to be with his family. This was a huge risk, our finances wouldn’t be the same, and we didn’t know if we’d make it. I decided to go back to work after taking off while pregnant with my second child to help keep this household running. And it was a great choice. I was no longer bored at home, I got to socialize and so did the kids. BUT it also meant once again we’d have to sacrifice our time together. Even though he is now home everyday I feel like I see him even less. We work opposite schedules and get to say hi, bye, and I love you and that’s about it. I also attend school and I have to stare at the computer instead of him and the kids. But we are so eager to succeed at our life together.  He has continued to excel at his job and has put it first. And I get very frustrated, not because I don’t want him to succeed but because I just miss him. I know he feels the same when I have to do homework all night and don’t get to come to bed when he decides to lay down. I just want our family to have quality time with each other. We hardly get this since our schedules are completely opposite. But because of all this it just makes our relationship and family that much stronger. The time I do get with just him or all of us together is rare but cherished so much more. I am so thankful I do have a man who wants to provide whatever we need and want in life. And I know one day me having to mow the grass for him, do all the house work, handle our Wild fur children, listen to his grumpiness from lack of sleep, and him forgetting everything because he’s so tired will pay off. One day we’ll be missing our kids while they’re in college, our dogs will be old and lazy, and we will get to travel the world and enjoy each other. It may be hard now, really hard. But we have so many more years as a family to enjoy every bit of what we’re making together. Always remember to enjoy and let the small things overpower the big things! 

Leave a comment